Sweet Potato Tots

What a southern comfort food classic! Today I am in the mood for something yummy and homemade. I am also getting a tad nervous about my schoolwork, so I decided to take my mind off of it and bake! I wanted to try something new and (surprisingly) not a baked good. I wanted something decently healthy, yet delicious and so these little tots are what I got!

Ingredients

1 Sweet Potato

.5 teaspoon salt

.5 teaspoon cayenne pepper

.5 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350. Cut the sweet potato in half. Boil the halves for about 10 minutes. Drain the pot and let the potatoes cool until they are easy to handle. Use a grate to shave the potato halves into coarse shavings. Mix the shavings with the dry ingredients. (I didn’t, but it would probably be yummy to add 2 tablespoons of coconut butter, regular butter, or honey to the mix.) Then take the mixture and mold into little balls. Place balls on wax paper in a tray and place tray in the oven. Let bake for about 30 minutes. Then switch the balls so that the bottom of the ball is now facing the top of the oven. Let that side bake for another 30 minutes.

Afterthoughts: They were really spicy, even for me, which is quite the accomplishment! I will probably reduce the amount of cayenne I use the next time I bake these!

This entry was published on August 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

